Piano Concerto
(18 Minutes)

Instrumentation: 1-1-1-1, 2-1-1-1, Piano, Strings

Listen to the Piano Concerto: 1. A Gathering, 2. A Ballad, 3. A Dance

Download "C" Perusal Score (PDF)
Download Transposed Perusal Score (PDF)

Purchase a copy of the Score or Parts (PDF)


My Piano Concerto with Chamber Orchestra was written simply because I wished to write a piano concerto. Initially, the concerto was scored for single woodwinds and brass (and soloist). When I completed this 12 minute score, I gave it into the hands and ears of my husband Stephen and my colleague Lee Actor, whose response and critique encouraged me to revise and expand the piece. In its final version, the concerto is scored for piano and chamber orchestra, and is a full 18 minutes in length — a veritable epic by my standards.

The Piano Concerto unfolds in three movements: A Gathering, A Ballad, and A Dance. Each movement features lyrical themes, and my characteristic shifting compound meters and tonal/modal sound. My thanks to Stephen and Lee for their help in bringing the concerto to fruition.

© Karen Amrhein. All Rights Reserved.